Skip to content

Katharine McPhee and Lionel Richie will Perform in the American Idol Finale

The ‘American Idol’ season finale is finally here!

This episode will begin with an elimination of two contestants to make the Top 5. The Top 5 contestants will perform two songs, one of their choice, and the other will be their new official American Idol single. America will cast a real-time vote to determine who wins the show.

The episode promises performances from their star judges, the Top 11 contestants, and a fan favorite.

Celebrity Performers:

The Top 11 contestants will join Academy Award® nominee Cynthia Erivo to perform a medley of iconic Aretha Franklin songs.

GRAMMY winner Lauren Daigle will perform alongside the Top 5 to perform hit “You Say.” 

Vocal group Rascal Flatts and Doug Kiker to perform “Bless The Broken Road.” Luke Bryan to perform his new single “One Margarita.”

Katy Perry will debut the first performance of her new single “Daisies.”

Lionel Richie will perform “We are the World” with the Idol judges and members of the “American Idol” family. This includes Alejandro Aranda aka Scarypoolparty, Fantasia Taylor, Gabby Barrett, Jordin Sparks, Katharine McPhee, Kellie Pickler, Laine Hardy, Lauren Alaina, Phillip Phillips, Ruben Studdard and Scotty McCreery.

The Final Contestants:

The Top 7 are Arthur Gunn from Wichita, KS, Dillon James from Bakersfield, CA, Francisco Martin from Daly City, CA, Jonny West from Studio City, CA, Julia Gargano from Staten Island, NY, Just Sam from West Hollywood, CA, and Louis Knight from Narberth, PA. Five of these contestants will compete to become the next American Idol.

Be sure to tune into the season finale of ‘American Idol’ on Sunday, May 17 at 8/7c on ABC.

If you purchase an independently reviewed product or service through a link on our website, Feeling the Vibe may receive an affiliate commission.